teacher.

you are the dust that settles
in the grooves of me,
in the hard-to-reach places,
you find quiet shelter.
searching for peace I wonder
if I can fold myself next to you,
like a plain scrap of
absent-minded oragami.
I wonder if I can
whisper your name & tempt you
to teach me your secrets.
but you crave something sweeter
than the words I have to offer you.
I have nothing
but winded praise on paper.
in your hands I would
feel empty, not enough,
an inadequate expression
of this tricky thing we call love.

via Daily Prompt: Praise

2 thoughts on “teacher.

Leave a Reply

