you and me.

for a minuscule moment
let’s, the two of us,
consider the impossible.

(okay, I know you
enjoy telling me
that all things are
possible, but sometimes
we don’t like certain
things to be true
& that is why
I go to the fiction section
of the library.)

let’s hypothesize
that tomorrow
everything we know simply
falls apart–
crazy apocalyptic stuff–
but we two are still
standing.

so, it’s just you
& me &
I ask the question:

How long before we become
complete strangers?

it’s viable (I think
that’s the word).

because if in a world
where we are
distracted
by every being
we encounter,
by every
pair of eyes
steady hands
familiar face…

if we can drift apart so much
in so little space

what happens when
there are no distractions?

just
you
&
me.

I walked by
an old lover &
we said nothing
because there is not much to say
to someone
who used to know you
so intimately
you had no need for words,
when now you both
are vague acquaintances
at the coffee shop.

but (anyway)
we sort of acknowledged
each other
with a polite smile.
& that was all.

& I thought
(later,
maybe
stuck in a dream
or just
pulling myself out of one)

HOW CAN THAT BE ALL.

I dread
to think that
one day
no matter
how close or far

suddenly

we will be strangers in a coffee shop.

yes,
you
&
me.

I don’t think
that is very fair.

so, back to the
apocalypse
sequence
where maybe the world
ends & somehow
you & me make it.

(isn’t that all
anyone wants, now?
to make it
just make it
through
whatever
everything.)

okay, so we’re staring
each other in the face
because
the alternative is
staring into
nothingness
silence
or maybe
ghosts.

How long does it take
for us to choose
nothing
(the absence of something, though
that’s not a definition
I agree with)
over each other; over
a face we know
sickeningly well?

these are the questions
currently keeping me
awake.

somewhere
on this journey
ranging from
the end of the world
& a passing face
in a coffee shop,

I have figured out
that more than anything
more than
a possible
apocalypse

I am scared
of the possibility

that I could stop
loving you.

&
you,
me.

5 thoughts on “you and me.

Leave a Reply

