Coffee, part Two.

It’s the same coffee-house, in case you’re wondering. At seven p.m. the views outside are fading with the sunlight, but we’ve decided to meet here anyway. I’ve gotten an iced coffee, for no particular reason, excepting my opinion that hot coffee is better in the mornings. 

I tap my fingers on the tabletop and wonder if there’s anything I’ve forgotten to tell you about my week. Have I covered the Japanese class? That was fun, and new. The class consisted of pronunciations and sentence structure, which was basic but entertaining all the same. Our instructors (or sensei, as they referred to themselves) were enthusiastic and funny, which is all I ask for in a teacher.

I’ve got a vacation coming up, to the beach (!), which I’ve been looking forward to for some time. I went shopping today to try and find another bathing suit, but alas, it was to no avail. I nearly blew all my money on one piece, but thought better of it. I’m sure my wallet will thank me later.

We talk about little things, like the weather and taxes, and dance over the big things, like love and family.

I recently read This Is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang, and have sufficiently gushed to you about it. One of the most emotionally draining books I have read, it was amazing, yet I still can’t bring myself to go out and buy it. What can I say? I’m a penny pincher.

The coffee’s good. Sweet enough for me. Slides down my throat and stops me from thinking about the storm clouds gathering outside. You’re sure you’ll get home alright? When I’m driving is the only time I mind the rain. Other than that, it could rain nonstop for all I care. Gives me a rhythm to fall asleep to: pelting raindrops on my windowpane.

Same time next week?  

Leave a Reply

