Coffee, part One.

If we were having coffee I’d apologize for the place I picked.

You wouldn’t notice me right away. I would blend in with the crowd. I would keep my head down and refrain from bumping into people (tougher than it sounds, considering my clumsiness). I’d walk up to the table you were sitting at…

Why am I assuming that you’ve gotten there first? I’m not a normally tardy person, unless the mode of transportation is out of my control. (I find it easier to be on time when no one else is ruling your schedule.) What does it matter, really? This is all in my imagination.

I’d walk up and smile. I think I smile too much, but I can’t help the grin when I’m around people. Smiling gets positive reactions from people (mostly). And I’m all for positive reactions (over negative ones, that is).

I’d order something with way too much whip cream and sugar squeezed into it, which I’d probably point out to you (out of self-consciousness, of course). Please laugh and change the subject. It’s what most people do anyway.

What kind of coffee would you order? Do you even drink coffee? I have some friends who go to coffeeshops and order tea. That’s like going to a seafood restaurant and ordering a hamburger. No offense; I like tea just as much as the next fella (and hamburgers, now that I mention them).

What did I start this post with? Oh, yes. “If we were having coffee I’d apologize for the place I picked.” Most likely it’s out of your way, and its’  coffee probably isn’t spectacular, but there’s a reason I picked it. Perhaps it has a killer view from the main window seat. Or maybe the staff is just super friendly. Whatever the case, I’ll apologize, but hopefully you won’t view the apology as necessary.

If we were having coffee I’d ask about your week. If you like talking more than listening, then you’re in luck in my company. I’d listen attentively, drinking my coffee in sips, not gulps (perhaps that’s significant), and I wouldn’t even check my phone. Honestly, nothing on my phone warrants my being attached to it.

I’d probably take pictures of something random. Maybe you’ll see me with a certain look on my face, like I’m thinking of something that stretches far beyond our coffee table. You’ve probably just given me an idea. I’m always getting ideas, and while I promise myself in the moment that I’ll remember to write them down, I rarely do.

We’re finished having coffee now.

Same time next week?

2 thoughts on “Coffee, part One.

  1. The place you’ve picked is a little out of my way, which you know but you don’t need to apologize for it. I’ve lived in this city 12 years and only haunted two or three suburbs. I like going out of my way. The food is good and the views at this time of day are lovely.

    I do drink coffee, a vanilla latte today. I like how you sip your coffee, making it last and not burning yourself like I do. Are you a practical sort?

    (You’ve probably just given me an idea, now I think on it)

    Same time next week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

